Top 5 Most Ridiculous Acronyms in the K-Pop Industry

After being into K-pop for only the past two years, I had no idea group names had specific acronyms. I thought CNBLUE was just CNBLUE and Teen Top was just Teen Top, but of course, since this is K-pop we’re talking about, there’s more to it than that. If only I had known better.

Before I begin, I just want to say that I am not writing this article to upset anybody or to ridicule the groups I am about to name, but to simply provide some interesting facts that I came across. Some of these really surprised me and made me laugh. I hope I’m not the only one who thinks that these are a bit ridiculous. Once again, no hate intended!

5. MBLAQ: Music Boys Live in Absolute Quality

This one actually isn’t too bad. At least it makes some sense to English speaking fans.

4. B2ST: Boys to Search for Top // BEAST: Boys of the East Standing Tall

Apparently this group has two different names. They were going to debut as B2ST but changed it to BEAST. Even though the two names are pronounced as “Beast,” they both have slightly different acronyms. I guess they really wanted to be known as the really tall beasts of the east.

3. DMTN: Desire Motivation Timing Now

Also known as Dalmation, this group seems to be going for a more determined and serious vibe. That “Now” sounds pretty demanding. Maybe their motto is more towards working hard and getting results quickly, or that could be just how I’m seeing it.

2. CNBLUE: Code Name Burning Lovely Untouchable Emotional

That escalated very quickly, or shall I say boy, that really took a plunge. I think CNBLUE must really like using English adjectives to describe their youth.

1. TEEN TOP: Teenager Emoboys Emoticon Next generation Talent Object Praise

I couldn’t help but seriously laugh out loud at this. What on earth is “Object Praise”? I think T.O.P. Media just wanted to reuse the name “T.O.P”. In my opinion, they deserve a medal for the Most Ridiculous Acronym in the K-pop Industry, or a MRAKI medal for short.

Honestly, I am not sure if the companies in charge of these boy groups thought these names through carefully. If anything, their names have entertained us fans on a whole new level, not just through singing and dancing but through their band names. CEOs, I hope you know what you’re doing!

Published by

Lokistar

Lokistar is an aspiring journalist, YA author, and ultimate foodie who loves quirky things like frogs, bubble tea, Narnia, and anything matcha related. She likes to go out on food adventures and sleeps before midnight everyday. Her obsession with frog merchandise may seem overwhelming at first, but once you get used to the fact, you may start to see the appeal in frogs yourself. It would be interesting to get to know her. You can email her at tokyoramenhousepress.gmail.com She hopes to meet you soon!

Leave a Reply

